“And if you feel you’re sinking, I will jump right over into cold, cold SHOWERS for you”

Actually, I take that back.

The hot water ran out in my dorm, but by the time I had figured this out, it was too late, and I was already standing in the shower with shampoo in my hair. So, I decided to just go with it.

It’s funny because your body gets used to the cold really quickly. It’s more the subconscious that is responsible for the overall unpleasantness of the experience. But anyways, once I got over the fact that I was going to be uncomfortable, the icy water suddenly become a bit more bearable, and I was able to carry on with my usual routine.

But yikes. Definitely one of the fastest showers I’ve ever taken in my life.

It was refreshing, though, I’ll admit that. It marked the end of a long week, and although today was fun because I got to celebrate my friend’s 21st birthday, I’m also extremely exhausted.

Midterms were awful, as expected. I still have a test on Monday, and a paper due as well, but the worst of it is over. My three back-to-back exams this week are done. And I already know how I did on one of them.

Oh, yeah, I failed.

Not like “OMG I got one question wrong” failed. But actually. Like by my old high school’s technical definition of failing.

Granted, it wasn’t by a lot. But still.

I’m trying to focus on the positives here. I didn’t mean for the beginning of this post to sound so disheartening. I know the quote that’s like, “Pain is temporary, GPA is forever.” I don’t know who said that. Probably William Shakespeare. But still. IT DOESN’T MATTER. At least, not in the long-term.

So, yeah. This week has been a little hectic and a lot stressful, but there’s always, ALWAYS a silver lining. For example, you can now follow me on Twitter at @_GillianParker, where I share some special news with the lovely Quinn Rose, who can be found at @aspiringrobotfm.

So excuse the shameless plug for our social media links, but seriously, check out our surprise.

And now, let’s wrap this all up with a funny but embarrassing thing that happened to me earlier this week. If it doesn’t describe who I am as a person, then nothing will.

So, not only did I celebrate my friend’s 21st today, as I said, but I am in charge of planning the birthday of my other friend. (Wait, you have more than one? Yeah, I know. Shocked me too. I don’t even have to pay them overtime.) Anyways, when I was planning it, I texted all the details in a new group chat, before I realized that when I had created the new group chat, I had accidentally included her in it.

Gosh darnit, Gillian.

This is why we can’t have nice things.

It’s whatever though, right? Remember the motto. Stay #NotFazed. Whether it’s about icy water or icy people, the truth remains the same.

Author:

Kinda like Gilligan's Island but completely different.

Leave a Reply

