A post with lots of exciting news, including but not limited to learning my heritage and partaking in my first successful Halloween costume

Okay, fam, this is gonna be a long post. Well, I say that now, but the truth is, I don’t plan these posts in advance. So honestly, who knows how long this will be?

First things first, I’m the realest. Okay, no, I’m not. But remember when I spit into a cup a few months ago and sent it to a lab that would tell me about my heritage? Well, the results came back.

It turns out that I’m 93% East Asian (which probably means I’m Chinese, since I was born there), 6% Polynesian (this one was the real surprise), and, last but not least, 1% Central Asian (which refers to anywhere from Iran to Mongolia).

Although I am a huge proponent of the #NotFazed movement, I was a bit fazed to learn this news. I also found this out while I was working (for reference, I work at a student restaurant on campus that specializes in fried foods), so I didn’t have much time to ponder about it since the next “rush” happened a few minutes after.

People tend to get very impatient when it comes to their mozzarella sticks.

Anyways, I told my family, and they were pretty surprised. Obviously supportive, but still surprised. My mom is going to order a DNA test for my sister, who is also adopted (we aren’t biologically related). I think I’m more interested in learning about my sister’s heritage than she herself is. But no matter.

Hm…what else? Well, I started trying to be “healthy.” I cut out all processed sugar (although I did recently find out that the sun butter in my school cafeteria does contain some sugar, but hey, it’s better than the mass amounts of cereal I used to consume on a regular basis) and started running. Ideally, I would love to run 21 miles by my 21st birthday, but we’ll see how that goes. I did end up running more times this past week than I have in the past 6 months, so that’s got to be some sort of progress, even if I don’t actually reach my goal.

Also, Halloweekend is officially upon us. Basically this refers to the two days that college students use to dress up in as many outrageous outfits and attend as many parties as possible in a 48-hour window. I did, however, get to celebrate early. My best friend Liz and I were Kim Possible and Shego respectively. I think it’s safe to say that we nailed it. Check out my Twitter @_GillianParker to see a picture of us in our prime.

Additionally, my lovely co-host Quinn Rose (@aspiringrobotfm) and I recorded an episode of her podcast “Solidly Mediocre” with our friend Caroline. So that was fun. We talked about relationships, so you should keep an eye out (or an ear out?) for the release of that next week.

Wow. I’m approaching 500 words. This has got to be a record.

(Actually, I just checked. It’s not. Apparently people write books that are much longer than 500 pages, let alone 500 locutions. Who would’ve thunk?)

All right, that’s it for today, folks. Hope you enjoyed this update on my life. Stay #NotFazed.

Author:

Kinda like Gilligan's Island but completely different.

Leave a Reply

